One Year Anniversary/The Future of \\\Maytag

Happy Anniversary!  On this day last year, we officially released our debut album and EPs!  In the year that these releases have been available, here are the download figures:

The Saga of the Frostbitten Lands of Frigidaire:  552 downloads

Permafrost:  140 downloads

Concerto for Three Washers in Sea Major:  170 downloads

Considering that we have no promotion whatsoever, I’m proud of this.  Also, over the course of the year, we have gotten some wonderful reviews written about our work.  Here are a few gems from various reviews on RateYourMusic:

“kboose is a fag”

“There are a lot of things you can accomplish with your free time when you don’t have a girlfriend!”

“A group of losers on the Internet with no talent make fun of a band with more talent and success than they’ll ever have.”

“I don’t know why I wasted time on this dumb novelty.”

And the best one…

“I don’t know if this makes me gay or w/e, but here it goes.

Whenever I shower I always test myself to see how far I can stick my index finger up my ass. I have to do it in the shower because I don’t want to go spend money on lube. Plus, I always feel kind of weird buying personals (toilet paper, soap, lotion, shampoo, etc.) at the store.

This one time I almost got my finger into my ass up to my second knuckle (counting down from the tip of the finger). That was in the morning. When I showered again in the evening, I thought to myself, “fuck it, let’s try it again.” Well, it happens to be that I hadn’t cut my nails in a while and in the process of ALMOST getting half my fucking finger in my ass, my goddamn roommate bangs on my restroom door. I jerk, and since my finger is in my fucking ass, I shoved it in a little further than I expected.

I swear to God I cut my fucking rectum.

That moment, that fucking one second it took for me to cut my rectum, can be expressed through this fucking thirty-six minute utter shit parody song.”

Thanks for your kind words!  You, the fans, truly motivate our musical endeavors!  Speaking of that, we have been silent for awhile for a reason.  Apparently, the I’m on a Fridge song and music video did not sit well with much of 235, and they have mostly shunned \\\Maytag, claiming to have never liked it (despite proof of otherwise in the form of the archived original topic, which can be found on this site).  They are refusing to associate themselves with it, and if it must be, then their departure is fine with me.  With that in mind, that leaves me (kboose), Tnuc Lana, and Pledgehammer left unless some 235-ers step up.  One one hand, it would be nice for them to help out with another album.  On the other hand, some of Tnuc Lana’s demos from last year show more promise than the parody drone we released last year.  Dare I say it, but I think the next release might be slightly more serious than the debut.  If that is the path we will go, then I think that making this have as few members as possible is a good idea. I think we could produce this ourselves, since Tnuc Lana is pretty damn good at this (I love his mixing on Permafrost), and I’m not too awful considering that it’s just drone music.  Of course, we still might need to take a shot or two at SunnO))), but we should be classier about it this time around.

In the meantime, I have done a small bit of work on some demos myself.  I’m most satisfied with this one, which is a 4:30 clip that, as of now, I intend to be the intro to Fridgerick Douglass, and album or EP that I had already designed the cover for over a year ago.  Download it here.

Otherwise, thanks for the support over the past year, and hopefully we can keep making music.

-kboose

Leave a Reply

